Java + Quarkus 2

The Jconf.dev community Java conference is going virtual for 2021, which means that developers worldwide will be able to stream sessions of interest wherever they are. The conference is on December 9, and a number of Red Hatters are presenting material that will be of interest to the developer community. Read on to learn more and find out when to tune in.

Cloud-native resiliency patterns from the ground up

Presenter: Ana Maria Mihalceanu, Developer Advocate and Java Champion
11:00 a.m. CST / 5:00 p.m. UTC

Ana Maria Mihalceanu will present Cloud-native resiliency patterns from the ground up. "When it comes to resiliency, we, as IT professionals, have the power to innovate around failure detection mechanisms, feedback, and recovery control solutions," she says, adding that having a stable system under continued periods of high workloads is important as well. "It is crucial for a network of services to have the ability to sustain a satisfactory level of service in the presence of threats and traffic challenges. Within the session, I am using Skupper and Red Hat OpenShift Service Mesh with Kiali and Jaeger enabled by default to offer a complete view of network resilience."

Kubernetes that sparks joy with Quarkus

Presenter: Edson Yanaga, Director of Developer Experience at Red Hat
1:00 p.m. CST / 7:00 p.m. UTC

Edson Yanaga will present Kubernetes that sparks joy with Quarkus to show you how this framework can make Kubernetes easy. You'll learn how millisecond development reloads work, and get to know Quarkus's superfast time-to-first-response and minimal memory footprint. For more from Edson on Quarkus, check out the DevNation Tech Talks Reactive Quarkus: A Java mutiny and Quarkus for Spring developers.

Take a walk on the client side

Presenter: Erin Schnabel, Senior Software Engineer at Red Hat
2:00 p.m. CST / 8:00 p.m. UTC

Erin Schnabel's session, Take a walk on the client side, explores how you can use JBang, Quarkus command-mode, client-oriented extensions, and Java to create extremely powerful native command-line applications. (You might also be interested in Erin's DevNation talk on adding metrics to Java with Micrometer.)

Monitor your Kubernetes containers with MicroProfile Health

Presenter: Daniel Oh, Senior Principal Technical Marketing Manager at Red Hat, and Mary Grygleski, Developer Advocate at IBM
3:00 p.m. CST / 9:00 p.m. UTC

Developers need to help monitor the health of modern complex containerized applications by putting in place various automated mechanisms. "Take heart! We have good news for you!" says Daniel Oh. He and IBM's Mary Grygleski are presenting Keep your Kubernetes containers up and lively with MicroProfile Health. They'll highlight a few MicroProfile specs such as Health, Config, and REST client; show how MicroProfile can ensure the health of your microservices applications; and demonstrate its natural interoperability, showing you how you can easily call an Open Liberty application from Quarkus.

Conclusion

Red Hat is a proud sponsor of Jconf.dev. We hope you'll join us virtually!

For more learning resources, check out our Java topic page

Comments