Webinar today: Bohuslav "Slavek" Kabrda on Software Collections

As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, many of you have read Slavek’s prior articles on software collections – now you can hear him talk!

Slavek, from Red Hat’s engineering team that brings us software collections, is an excellent presenter having spoken about collections numerous times at the Red Hat Summit.  If you have questions about how to use collections, attend today’s webinar.

Title:  Deep dive into Red Hat Software Collections

Software Collections are the technology behind Red Hat® Software Collections and Developer Toolset. These products give you access to the latest stable versions of dynamic languages and databases, and developer tools, respectively – for use with Red Hat Enterprise Linux®.  Join our webinar to learn what software collections are and why you need them, and then a deep dive on how they work.

Software collections are package stacks that live outside standard system directories, and in parallel with system packages. They let you install multiple parallel versions of various software pieces–language interpreters, compilers, databases or libraries–while leaving system packages intact.

This technical webinar focuses on:

  • File system layout.
  • Red Hat Package Manager (RPM) dependencies
  • Usage of software collections.

Date: October 31, 2013
Time: 16:00 UTC | 12 p.m. (New York) / 5 p.m. (Paris) / 9:30 p.m. (Mumbai)

In case you missed them, see Slavek’s prior articles:

Register for this webinar here.

 

Share